About PVEC Board of Directors

Process to Become a Board Member

The Board of Directors is responsible for the business and affairs of the Cooperative. The PVEC Board of Directors consists of nine (9) directors representing each of the nine (9) districts of our cooperative. (Maps of the districts are located at each Powell Valley office.)

They are elected by secret ballot at the Annual Meeting.  Each year three of the nine board seats come up for election. (Next year in districts 4, 5, and 9.)

To run for a board position you must be a bona fide resident of the district in which the vacancy exists and which is served by the cooperative.  You may not become a board member if you are a grandparent, parent, sibling, spouse, co-habitant, child, or grandchild of an employee or incumbent director.  

Any fifteen (15) or more members may nominate a candidate in writing over their signatures. Nominations in writing are required to be in a cooperative office by 5:00 pm not less than sixty (60) days prior to the meeting.

PVEC Member Voices will support candidates that are closely aligned with our core values and goals. Below is a list of the current board with links to their email addresses obtained from PVEC’s website:

Current PVEC Board Members, Districts, Current Terms

Roger Ball, President
District 2, 2016 – 2018, re-elected at the 2018 Annual Meeting
Tazewell, Tennessee

David Kindle, Vice President
District 8, 2016-2018, re-elected at the 2018 Annual Meeting
Blackwater, Virginia

Judith Robertson, Secretary-Treasurer
District 3, 2018-2020
Harrogate, Tennessee

Mikel R. Sharp
District 1, 2018-2020
New Tazewell, Tennessee

J. Allen Parkey *
District 4, 2017-2019
Tazewell, Tennessee

John A. Short, MD *
District 5, 2017-2019
Sneedville, Tennessee

Dale McNiel
District 6, 2018-2020
Jonesville, Virginia

Michael L. Shockley
District 7, 2018-2020, re-elected at the 2018 Annual Meeting
Kyles Ford, Tennessee

Gary Russell *
District 9, 2017-2019
Jonesville, Virginia

* Up for election in 2019